Programme for the naming of the den

5.30 p.m. Arrival of guests
6.00 p.m. Flag break
6.05 p.m. Welcome by Captain (R) Ho Fooi
6.15 p.m. Investiture of honorary scouts
6.30 p.m. Dedication speeches
7.00 p.m. Acceptance speech
7.10 p.m. Unveiling of plaques
7.30 p.m. Dinner

Kwai Choong and Piang Fah

Phang Piang Fah

Continued with scouting in MBSKL after the second world and rekindled the scouting spirit in MBSKL. During his tenure as Group Scoutmaster, 10th KL was merged with 15th KL to form the enlarged 10th Kuala Lumpur Air Scout Group.

His nurture of the boys produced the successors of many scout leaders in 10th Group.

MBSKL “lost” Piang Fah to the Jalan Kuantan School on his promotion as headmaster to that school. His love was still for 10th Group where he returned often and delivered many yarns to the younger generations.

Piang Fah did us proud when he was appointed the Camp Chief of Selangor.

Piang Fah went home in 2006.

Liu Kwai Choong

Succeeded Piang Fah as Group Scout Master in 1962 whilst a teacher in the MBS primary school and continued on when transferred to the secondary school. Many years of MBS scouts benefitted from his training, camps and journeys he initiated.

Kwai Choong is best remembered for giving birth to the idea of 10th Group’s den. He is credited with raising the clarion call to his peers and charges for a permanent home for 10th Group.

With his leadership, permission was granted by the school authorities for the site. The fund raising led by Kwai Choong raised more than RM150,000 to build the den.

10th Group is proud to name the den after our GSM who has spent more than 50 years with the group.

Organising Committee

Captain (R) Ho Fooi
Fong Yuen Hoe
Ho Chee Wah
Wan Heng Yuen
Dr. Wong Tuck Meng
Low Kong Ming
Tam Chee Keong
Dr. Anthony Foong
Chan Mei Fui
Choo Chon Ming
Gary Lee
Yap Hoy Hoong
Charlie Ng
Wong Hsien Loong
Richard Kong
Hooi Weng Cheong